Harley Edward Streten, known professionally as Flume. Is an Australian record producer, musician and DJ. His self-titled debut studio album, Flume, was released on 9 November 2012 to positive reviews, topping the ARIA Albums Chart and reaching double-platinum accreditation in Australia. Flume has remixed songs by artists such as Lorde, Sam Smith, Arcade Fire and Disclosure. His second studio album, Skin, was released on 27 May 2016, to positive reviews and also topped the ARIA Albums Chart. His father, Glen Streten, was a filmmaker and record producer, and his mother, Lyndall, was a teacher.

He grew up on the Northern Beaches of Sydney with a younger sister, and attended St. Augustine’s College Brookvale. He began creating music at about the age of thirteen, with a basic production disc that was packaged in a box of cereal. In 2012, his debut album was done on his first laptop that he had ever purchased. He finished the album on this laptop while he was on a low-budget trip to London. Once he got back to Australia the album was on the top of the charts. In 2010, Streten began producing house music under his initials, HEDS. He created two tracks “Flow” and “Fizz”, in addition to several remixes.

Streten was discovered and signed in 2011 through an original artists competition managed by the Australian record company Future Classic. He submitted the tracks “Sleepless”, “Over You” and “Paper Thin” to win the competition. Nathan McLay, founder of Future Classic and now Flume’s manager, assisted with the release of his first EP, titled Sleepless, which contained the three original tracks. He opted for the moniker “Flume” after the Bon Iver song of the same name. Flume’s self-titled debut album, was released on 9 November 2012 to favorable reviews. The album’s production saw Flume collaborating with vocal artists Moon Holiday, Jezzabell Doran, Chet Faker, and New York rapper T.Shirt. The album reached number one on the Australian iTunes charts.

It debuted on the ARIA Albums Chart at number 2, behind of One Direction’s Take Me Home. In December 2012, Flume signed with Mom + Pop Music and announced the North American release of his self-titled debut studio album. The album was released in the US on 21 February 2013 and received strong support from American critics, averaging a score of 73 out of 100 on review aggregate site Metacritic.

On Australia Day 2013, four of Flume’s songs (including a remix) were listed on Triple J Hottest 100 for 2012. His album’s breakthrough song “Holdin On” was listed at number 4, the highest-charting Australian song. Other inclusions were “Sleepless” and his remix of “Hyperparadise” by Hermitude, both in the top 20 (numbers 12 and 18, respectively), and “On Top” at number 67. In early January 2016, Flume released a four-and-a-half-minute preview of his second studio album, Skin.

The following month, the first single, “Never Be like You”, featuring vocals from Canadian singer Kai reached number one in Australia, making it Flume’s first chart-topping song. In April, Flume released his second official single, “Say It”, featuring the Swedish singer and songwriter Tove Lo.


Artist: Flume
Title: Say It (Tove Lo)
Album: Skin (Explicit)
Buy MP3: £0.99 (2016)
Buy Album: £7.99 (2016)
Artist: Flume
Title: Holdin On
Title: Flume
Buy MP3: £0.59 (2012)
Buy Album: £6.49 (2012)
Artist: Flume
Title: Heater
Album: Flume Skin Companion EP 1 (EP)
Buy MP3: £0.99 (2016)
Buy Album: £2.99 (2016)
Artist: Chet Faker & Flume
Title: Drop The Game
Title: Lockjaw
Buy MP3: £0.99 (2013)
Buy Album: £1.99 (2013)

Studio albums

“Skin” (Released: 27 May 2016), “Flume” (Released: 9 November 2012).

Extended plays
“Skin Companion EP 1” (Released: 25 November 2016). “Lockjaw (Flume and Chet Faker)” (Released: 22 November 2013).


“Say It” (featuring Tove Lo) (2016 Album Skin). “Smoke & Retribution” (featuring Vince Staples and Kučka) (2016 Album Skin). “Never Be like You” (featuring Kai) (2016 Album Skin). “Some Minds” (featuring Andrew Wyatt) (2015 Non-album single). “Drop the Game” (with Chet Faker) (2013 Album Lockjaw). “Holdin On” (2012 Album Flume). “Sleepless” (featuring Jezzabell Doran) (2012 Album Flume). “On Top” (featuring T.Shirt) (2012 Album Flume). “Sleepless” (featuring Anthony for Cleopatra) (2011 Album Sleepless).

Other charted songs

“Trust” (featuring Isabella Manfredi) (2016 Album Skin Companion EP 1). “Heater” (2016 Album Skin Companion EP 1). “Tiny Cities” (featuring Beck) (2016 Album Skin). “Take a Chance” (featuring Little Dragon) (2016 Album Skin). “Wall Fuck” (2016 Album Skin). “Lose It” (featuring Vic Mensa) (2016 Album Skin). “Helix” (2016 Album Skin).

Songwriting and production credits

“I Remember” AlunaGeorge (2016 Album I Remember, Credits: Producer), “Talk” (featuring George Maple) (2016 Album Encore Credits: Co-writer), “Talk Talk” George Maple (2014 Album Vacant Space EP Credits: Co-writer), “I Met You” Anna Lunoe (2012 Album Real Talk EP Credits: Co-writer produce).


“Turning” Collarbone (2015), “Lay Me Down” Sam Smith (2015), “Afterlife” Arcade Fire (2015), “Test & Recognise” (Flume Re-work) Seekae (2014), “Gold” (Flume Re-work) Chet Faker (2014), “Tennis Court” Lorde (2014), “Woman of the Ghetto” (Flume’s Jackin House Mix) Marlena Shaw (2013), “You & Me” Disclosure (2013), “Slasherr” (Flume Soundtrack Version) Yolanda Be Cool (2013), “HyperParadise” Hermitude (2012), “Every Little Step” Junior Boys (2012), “Won’t Get Lost” The Aston Shuffle (2012), “Higher” Ta-ku(2012), “Gravel Pit” Matt Miller x Kilter (2012), “Zimbabwe” New Navy (2011), “The Anthem” Onra (2011), “Back and Forth” (Flume vs. Mr. V) Fedde le Grand (2010).

Essential Mix

Flume appeared on the BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix show on 3 October 2015, about 6 months before the release of his second studio album, Skin. The mix featured his own music and tracks from electronic artists including Jon Hopkins, Amon Tobin, and Jamie xx, as well as hip hop artists Knxwledge, Vic Mensa, Vince Staples, and Kanye West.

Production and writing

2016: DJ Snake – “Talk” (featuring George Maple), 2016: AlunaGeorge – “I Remember”, 2016: AlunaGeorge – “I’m in Control” (featuring Popcaan), 2014: George Maple – “Talk Talk”, 2014: George Maple – “Vacant Space”, 2013: Touch Sensitive – “Pizza Guy”.

Music videos

“Say It” (featuring Tove Lo) Nez (2016), “Never Be like You” (featuring Kai) Clemens Habicht (2016), “Some Minds” (featuring Andrew Wyatt) Clemens Habicht (2015), “Drop the Game” (Flume and Chet Faker) Lorin Askill (2013), “Insane” (featuring Moon Holiday) Angus Lee Forbes (2013), “On Top” (featuring T.Shirt) Angus Lee Forbes (2013), “More Than You Thought” Angus Lee Forbes (2013), “Holdin On” Joe Nappa (2013), “Left Alone” (featuring Chet Faker) Rhett Wade-Ferrell (2013), “Sleepless” (featuring Jezzabell Doran) Damon Cameron (2012), “I Met You” (Anna Lunoe and Flume) Melvin J. Montalban (2012).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.